Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Thursday, Jun. 28, 2012 - 4:10 p.m.

Life is quasi "oh hold" while Hubby recovers from hamstring and knee surgery. Luckily, those same character traits that make him an extreme A-type pain in the proverbial encourage speedy recoveries after injuries and surgeries - it's an independence thing. So, four weeks post surgery, Hubby is back at work - despite the HR dept not yet providing tools they should have in the non-disabled-friendly work environment (wonder how the company got away with that?).

Meanwhile, I am ticking along, trying to play my part in grass roots changes to overturn our state's demise. Making phone calls, soon to be walking door to door. We cannot piss and whine if we are not prepared to put our efforts where our mouths are. This state needs jobs!

Not sure if we shall have a family vaycay this year - it depends on Hubby's physical abilities at that time, amenities, costs, etc. However, we did go to a family wedding in Ohio recently, which was pleasant. My sister in law's family is highly intelligent, and very colorful ... and I like that they are huggers and kissers, stereotypical Italians :-)

As regards the wedding ceremony itself, I must be very irreverent � although, I truly believe the Goddess gave me my sense of humor � something touches my funny bone when the priest sings the �I can beat you at dominoes� lines (albeit not in Latin these days), and the soprano rendering meaning to the chosen wedding songs does tremolo � beautiful voice, I do admit, but tremolo is NOT my thing. This was a short Catholic ceremony, lasting only one hour, with its many bouts of standing up, and sitting down. I found it quite interesting.

The country desperately needs some rain - the heat has broken 100's of records already this year. I would not have made a good pioneer ... can you imagine wearing long sleeved blouses and long skirts? Yikes! I have encouraged my neighbor friends to get up and at �em for walks at 0700 hrs on my days off, so that we can beat the heat.

The strange weather has helped various species proliferate more than usual this year; we have LOADS of baby squirrels and rabbits � awww! :-) Last night, the boys saw a mommy raccoon with four babies. As they danced across the deck, one baby twisted its way down an upright, creating its own jungle gym. Animals are amazing entertainers. Speaking of which, we have an Olympic squirrel this season, who does back flips from the shepherd�s crook (bird feeders) to the roofed bird feeder. We have all but held up score cards for it :-)

I am planning on doing a couple of day trips with the boys � Chicago, Indiana � museums and other worldly culture in the Amish community, etc.

Yours observing the world with an almost jaded eye these days :-(
Paeggan OX

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!